This guide give helpful resources for finding book reviews, especially of older books.
Last Updated: Aug 26, 2016
- Book Review Index
Reference Z1035.A1 B6
Choose the volumes for the year your book was published and the year following; our copies go back to 1965. Look up your book’s author or title. You will find a brief citation to each book review. Journal titles are also abbreviated – so use the key at the front of the book. The title key at the front of each volume explains the abbreviations for the journals indexed. You will need the entire citation (journal title, date, volume, page #s, etc) to find the rev
- Book Review Digest
Coverage from 1905-2001. Use this the same way you use Book Review Index – searching for your author’s name around the years their book was published and using the key at the front of the book to verify the publication title.
- New York Review of Books
Click link to see holdings.
- New York Times Book Review
Holdings go back to 1947; click link for details.
- Times Literary Supplement
Holdings to 1944; click link for details.
These are the best databases for searching for theological articles. Use your University of St. Thomas Celt ID to log into electronic services.
- ATLA/ATLAS Full Text
Produced by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA is an important source for religious & theological literature. It provides citations to journal articles, essays and books in many languages. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present, while retrospective indexing provides citations of select titles back to their original publication date. In addition to citations, full-text links are provided to thousands of articles and book reviews.
- Catholic Periodical & Literature Index
Covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle, and includes index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. Coverage in the database dates back to 1981.
- Academic Search Complete
Includes the New York Times Book Review from 1985 to the present, among many other sources. In the Advanced Search page, select "Book Review" under "Document Type," then search for the reviewed work's title or author.
- CHOICE Reviews Online
Reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year CHOICE publishes more than 6,500 reviews by subject experts. ChoiceReviewsOnline provides access to CHOICE reviews published since September 1988.
Go to Advanced Search, and under "Narrow By" select "Review." Search for the title or author of the reviewed work.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic
Okay. On the Power Search page, click on one of the "Add Index Terms" links, then use the "Change Index" menu to switch to "All terms." Look up and select "Book Reviews." Then, add key words to the search box and continue to follow the instructions on the Power Search page. Searches many world publications.
- LION Literature Online / ABELL
Select Criticism & Reference from the column on the left, then click the Criticism tab. Then, select Reviews in the "Limit To" list. Links to full-text holdings found in JSTOR.
- Literature Resource Center
In the Basic Search page, under "by content type," clear all check marks except "Reviews & News." Then use the search options "Person - by or about" or "Name of work" to find reviews.