This is the "Home" page of the "The Bishop Nold Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Bishop Nold Collection  

Last Updated: Apr 25, 2016 URL: http://beran.libguides.com/bishopnold Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Nold Collection

      Many of the first titles added to the Beran Library's catalog came from the collections of priests and bishops of the diocese. Among those, the personal library of Bishop Wendelin Nold represented a major addition to the library's holdings. 

      The Nold Collection consists of nearly 800 titles covering a diverse range of topics, including art, social science, history, spirituality, literature and travel.  Bishop Nold's personal library reflects the eclectic taste of the first bishop of the Diocese of Galveston-Houston.

      Now, the Bishop Nold Collection is searchable in the Beran Library catalog. To locate titles from the Bishop Nold Collection, search “Bishop Nold” or "Bishop Nold Collection" (capitalization is not necessary) under "all headings" or "series title" in the catalog search bar.

 

Selections from the Bishop Nold Collection

 

Biography of Bishop Nold

      Wendelin Nold was born on January 18, 1900 in Bonham, Texas to Wendelin Joseph and Mary Elizabeth Nold. After attending parochial schools in Cleburne and Fort Worth, he studied at St. Mary's Seminary in La Porte, where he obtained a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1921. Nold was the first student at St. Mary's Seminary to be sent to the North American College in Rome for graduate study in theology. There he earned a doctorate in sacred theology in 1925. 

      Upon his return to the States Nold settled in Dallas.  He served as a curate at Sacred Heart Cathedral, and in 1941 became the first pastor of Christ the King Church. In addition to his pastoral duties, Nold served in the chancery as a consultor, synodal judge, synodal examiner, director of the Confraternity of Christian Doctrine and director of Catholic Action. He was raised to the rank of Papal Chamberlain in 1936, Domestic Prelate in 1942, and prothonotary apostolic in 1946.

      On November 29, 1947 Pope Pius XII appointed Nold Coadjutor Bishop of Galveston and Titular Bishop of Sasima. He received his episcopal consecration on February 25, 1948. On April 1, 1950 Nold succeeded Bishop Byrne as the fifth Bishop of Galveston, becoming the first native Texan to hold the office.     

      In 1959, due to the rate of growth in Houston, Rome permitted Bishop Nold to build a Cathedral in Houston. On July 25, 1959, the diocese was renamed the Diocese of Galveston-Houston and the Sacred Heart Church in Houston was named the Co-Cathedral. This did not change the status of the City of Galveston as an Episcopal city; however, it did permit full Episcopal ceremonies to be held in Houston, as well at St. Mary's Cathedral Basilica in Galveston. Additonally, a new chancery was built in Houston and the administrative offices were transferred there in 1963. In all, Nold established forty-seven parishes and fourteen mission churches during his time as bishop.

      Nold stressed Catholic education throughout his tenure as bishop. He oversaw construction for the new St. Mary's Seminary campus in Houston, as well as the construction of four high schools in the Houton-Beaumont area. In September 1961, Nold ordered that all Catholic schools in the diocese be racially integrated. 

      Nearly a decade after becoming bishop, Nold began experiencing health problems. In 1959, he suffered his first heart attack, after which he was plagued with kidney ailments. While undergoing hospitalization in 1963, Nold began to lose his eyesight. Due to his progressive blindness, Nold was prompted to resign from the administration of the diocese. In April 1963, he received Bishop John Louis Morkovsky as his coadjutor bishop. Morkovsky assumed charge of the administration of the diocese, but Nold was still in charge of civil trusts left to the diocese. After fifteen years as bishop, he resigned fully on April 22, 1975. He died at age 81 on October 1, 1981, and is buried in Houston's Holy Cross Cemetery.

Cardinal Beran Library - 9845 Memorial Drive - Houston, Texas 77024 - 713-686-4345 x 265
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip