This is the "Annotated Bibliography" page of the "Annotated Bibliographies & Literature Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Annotated Bibliographies & Literature Reviews   Tags: bibliography, citation, evaluate, literature review  

Last Updated: Sep 7, 2012 URL: http://beran.libguides.com/annotated_bibliography Print Guide RSS Updates

Annotated Bibliography Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Refworks

Refworks is a tool that helps you manage references and create citations.

Login to Refworks.

Find out more on the Doherty Guide.

Watch tutorials.

 

On the Web

 

What is an annotated bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations accompanied by short summary and evaluation of the source. This normally includes a sentence on the author, a sentence or two about the content of the article or book, then a sentence or two evaluating the content and why it was used. Not all annotations are the same length or follow the exact same pattern.

 

Example

Roberts, J. Deotis. The Roots of a Black Future: Family and Church. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1980

In this brief but timely book a leading black theologian highlights the importance of the two mons important institutions in the black community, the family and the church. The author argues that the black family can be understood as a local church and that the church can be understood as an extended family. This provocative thesis is advanced by tan analysis of the actual and symbolic relationships between them. This is a useful and helpful book, but most of the potential of the thesis is left untapped.

 

Cone, James H. Black Theology and Black Power. New York: Seubury Press, 1969

This first book b James Cone is the most important text to date written on black theology. It is a passionate attempt to relate the gospel of Jesus Christ to black power. The central thesis is that black power is not antithetical to Christianity but is itself Christ's central message to twentieth century America. The author provides a sharp and often scathing critique of American Christianity and argues that black theology is the one true prophetic voice in a racist society. The strength of this book is the fact that is speaks directly to the issues of the day. Its particularity has become the root of its worldwide appeal. It is the classic text in the history of black theology.

 

*Annotations borrowed from Black Theology: a Critical assessment and Annotated Bibliography by James H. Evans, Jr.

Librarian

Profile Image
Ashley Pitts
Contact Info
713-686-4345 X282
Send Email
 
Cardinal Beran Library - 9845 Memorial Drive - Houston, Texas 77024 - 713-686-4345 x 265
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip